#### NZ Suzuki Institute AGM

### 7:30pm Sunday 27 September 2020, online meeting via Zoom

Welcome by the President: Simon Griffiths opened the meeting at 7:33pm

### 1. Registering and apologies

Attendees: see list below.

Apologies: Rachel Braly, Felicity Bayliss, Angela Chen, Pamela Hancox, Trudi Miles, Susan

Noble, Catherine Polglase, Jenny Powell, Val Thorburn

MOTION – That the apologies be accepted.

M Simon Griffiths/ S Louise Inglis – carried unanimously

## 2. Approval of minutes of the 2019 AGM

MOTION - That the minutes of the 2019 NZ Suzuki Institute AGM be accepted as a true and accurate record.

M Simon Griffiths / S Jan Beck - carried unanimously

**3. Financial report:** Avril Hillind presented the Annual Performance Report to 31 March 2020. The National Executive voted in favour of the financial report being approved at the last National Executive meeting on 9 August 2020.

MOTION: That the Annual Performance Report for the 2020 financial year be adopted.

M Lynette Carson / S Margaret Cooke — carried unanimously

Simon Griffiths thanked Avril for her presentation.

**4. President's report** Simon Griffiths read a brief report on the activities over the last year and thanked all the volunteers throughout the country who keep the Suzuki Method alive and well in New Zealand, especially in this difficult year with the pandemic.

MOTION - That the President's report be accepted.

M Simon Griffiths / S Louise Inglis - carried unanimously

#### 5. Election of Officers

President – Simon Griffiths continues in the second year of his two-year term.

Vice Presidents – nominations were received for Lynette Carson and Margaret Cooke. No further nominations were made from the floor and no election was required. Lynette Carson and Margaret Cooke were confirmed as Vice Presidents.

#### 7. Confirmation of Branch Delegates for the 2020 - 2021 year

Susan Noble noted in her apology that the Hamilton Branch had not yet been able to hold their AGM as events and been postponed due to the Covid-19 regulations.

Current delegates are:

Northland Felicity Wooding, Heidi Bosniakowski

Auckland Rachel Braly, Milly Rout

Bay of Plenty Amelia Taylor, Catherine McMillan

Hamilton Trudi Miles, Susan Noble

Hawkes Bay Susan Barham, Alicia Vasquez

Wellington Emma Goodbehere, Sarah White

South Island Lorenz Weston-Salzer, Sarah Newman

MOTION – That the Branch Delegates for 2020-2021 be confirmed.

## 7. Setting of membership fee for 2021

The National Executive meeting of 9 August 2020 recommended that the family and teacher subscriptions remain the same as the 2020 financial year.

MOTION - That the meeting adopt the National Executive recommendation that the subscription for 2020 be held at the 2019 fee of \$70 for families and \$100 for teachers with a \$5 prompt payment discount.

M Simon Griffiths / S Louise Inglis - carried unanimously

# 8. Nominations for Life Membership

On the recommendation of the Wellington Branch and the PAG, Gillian Bibby and Ann Goodbehere were nominated for Life Membership of the NZSI. Sarah White and Emma Goodbehere spoke about Ann's and Gillian's contribution to the Suzuki movement and the musical life of the wider community over the past 40 years.

MOTION That Gillian Bibby and Ann Goodbehere be granted life membership of NZSI. M Simon Griffiths / S Lynley Culliford – carried unanimously

#### 9. Any other business

There was no other business. Simon Griffiths thanked all for attending. Meeting Closed at 8:05pm

### List of meeting attendees

Jan Beck, Heidi Bosniakowski, Lynette Carson, Margaret Cooke, Lynley Culliford, Robyn Denize, Emma Goodbehere, Simon Griffiths, Fiona Haughton, Avril Hillind, Louise Inglis, Ahna Jensen, May Lee, Marilyn Petrie, Milly Rout, Stacey Shuck, Glynis Thomson, Sarah White, Natarani Witten-Hannah, Sasha Witten-Hannah, Felicity Wooding